A new age of education

Hello, my name is Henrik. I am 16 years old. My class and I are part of a project where we are going to play Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword as a part of our education. This has almost never been done before, so I feel like a pioneer of some sort. I am really excited about this, because I have never been playing video games at school with permission from the teachers. It is true that I am a video game player, also known as a “gamer”. I have been playing games pretty much every day since I was five years old. At first I played games on consoles that are connected to a TV. Then two years ago, I switched to PC as my primary gaming platform. Video games have been a big part of my life, and they still are. Why do I love video games so much? They are fun, they often tell a good story and I can play them with my friends. There are a lot of genres in gaming. The ones I play the most are First Person Shooters, Adventure Games, Massively Multiplayer Online Games and Platformers.  I would call myself experienced, and I am skilled in most competitive games.

When I first heard about this project I had a few expectations. I was expecting to play the game very often and that the teacher would give us tasks and goals to complete in the game. I also expected us to play together using Multiplayer. As it is now, most of my expectations have been fulfilled. We are playing the game pretty often and we have just been given goals to accomplish. I was a little disappointed when I found out that we are not going to use the Multiplayer feature, because I really enjoy playing games with others online and work together to accomplish something and have a good time. The pairing with another student made up for it though, at least to a certain degree. Right now, I am still learning how to play the game and how to be good at it. There are several tactics and strategies as well as techniques that I need to use in order to be successful in the game. I will just have to keep trying and learning new things. So far, I am really enjoying this!

Leave a Reply

